My friends’ finds

Hey, I have a lot of friends who like to eat good things.  No surprise there. It’s not really a prerequisite for being my friend – I am also close to people who eat the exact same thing for breakfast or  lunch every single day.

But several of my friends like to travel far and wide to check out a food finds, or continually try out new recipes on dinner guests.

Take my first roommate when I got out of college. Sharon and I worked at a dinky local newspaper and made nothing. But we ate well. She is still continuing the tradition and sent me the following notes and recipe:

I’m going to make these roast veggies. They are out of this world good! (I think the amount of oil called for is excessive and will cut it back a bit.) (See bold below.)

ROASTED VEGETABLES

4 large zucchini, cut into strips
2 red onions, cut into strips
2 red bell peppers, cut into strips
6 cloves of garlic, halved
Several handfuls of pitted Kalamata olives
1 T mixed herbs (Herbs de Provence)
4 ½ C olive oil
Course salt
Cracked black pepper
1 pack of Feta cheese, crumbled

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
Mix all ingredients, except Feta cheese, together and spread in a shallow roasting pan.
Bake uncovered for about 30 minutes or until vegetables are just tender.
Crumble Feta cheese over vegetables once plated.

Ok. So stop for a minute. Four CUPS of oil? Sharon swears this is the correct amount in the original recipe. She cut the amount in half and said the veggies were still swimming in oil. I say start with 1/2 cup, and if the vegetables aren’t thoroughly coated, add a little more until they are. Now, if you want some delicious oil for bread dipping, add a little extra.

On the other side of the food spectrum, my friend Lisa braved D.C. traffic and found Edibles Incredible Bakery at the Reston Town Center in Reston, Va. Cupcake Heaven. They pile on the icing – towering inches of it. With cupcakes like Cherry Va Va Va Voom, Creamsicle and Elvis (yes, banana cake with peanut butter icing) they eclipse the ordinary.

Here’s Lisa’s review:

” I had the cherry va va va voom last night. Moist with a touch of cherry compote in the middle, iced in  buttercream, and topped with a chocolate covered cherry. I thought about the cupcake all day at work. What a motivation to get through a day of work! It’s the cake to icing ratio that really makes it the perfect cupcake. ”

Edibles Incredible ships nationwide from their production kitchen near Dulles airport. Just so you know.

Check out the sin a:

www.ediblesincredible.com

Leave a Reply

